Skip to main content

See below for contact information for our faculty and staff members.

Brief biographies and descriptions of each faculty member’s teaching and research interests can be found by selecting the faculty member’s name.


Claude Clegg, Department Chair

E: cclegg@email.unc.edu

P: 919-966-5496

Michael Lambert, (Acting) Director of Undergraduate Studies and Honors Coordinator

E: mlambert@email.unc.edu

P: 919-962-2342

Mohamed Mwamzandi, Language Coordinator

E: mymzandi@email.unc.edu

Charlene Regester, Summer School Administrator

E: regester@email.unc.edu

P: 919-537-3383


Administrative and Support Staff

Lola Tasar, Business Services Coordinator ltasar@email.unc.edu 919-966-1295
Velvet Catoe, Administrative Support Associate vcatoe@unc.edu 919-966-5496

Core Faculty

Maya J. Berry                                    maya.berry@unc.edu                             919-537-3382

Raphael Birya                                   rbirya@emai.unc.edu

Lydia Boyd                                         lcboyd@email.unc.edu                          919-537-3385

Brandi Brimmer                              bbrimmer@unc.edu                                919-537-3188

Samba Camara                                 camara@email.unc.edu

Claude Clegg                                     cclegg@email.unc.edu                            919-962-2347

Shakirah Hudani                             shudani@.unc.edu                                    919-962-8225

Kenneth Janken                               krjanken@email.unc.edu                      919-962-1519

Michael Lambert                             mlambert@email.unc.edu                    919-962-2342

Alicia Monroe                                   almonroe@email.unc.edu

Mohamed Mwamzandi                mymzandi@email.unc.edu

Georges Nzongola-Ntalaja         nzongola@email.unc.edu                     919-537-3210

David Pier                                           dpier@email.unc.edu                              919-537-3386

Robert Porter                                    rporter@email.unc.edu

Charlene Regester                          regester@email.unc.edu                        919-537-3383

Eunice Sahle                                     eunice@email.unc.edu

Petal Samuel                                     petals@email.unc.edu                             919-962-3944

Ronald Williams II                         rcw@email.unc.edu                                  919-843-6202