Skip to main content

See below for contact information for our faculty and staff members.

Brief biographies and descriptions of each faculty member’s teaching and research interests can be found by selecting the faculty member’s name.

Claude Clegg, Department Chair


P: 919-966-5496


Kenneth Janken, Director of Undergraduate Studies and Honors Coordinator


P: 919-962-1519

Spring 2024 virtual office hours: Wednesday 8-9:30am, 2-3:30pm at


Brandi Brimmer, Director of Graduate Studies


P: 919-537-3188


Mohamed Mwamzandi, Language Coordinator



Charlene Regester, Summer School Administrator


P: 919-537-3383

Administrative and Support Staff

Melanie Beam, Business Manager 919-966-5496
Velvet Catoe, Student Services Specialist 919-966-5496

Core Faculty

Maya J. Berry                                                       919-537-3382

Raphael Birya                         

Lydia Boyd                                                         919-537-3385

Brandi Brimmer                                                    919-537-3188

Samba Camara                       

Claude Clegg                                                       919-962-2347

Shakirah Hudani                                                       919-962-8225

Kenneth Janken                                           919-962-1519

Joseph Jordan                         

Michael Lambert                                       919-962-2342

LeRhonda Manigault-Bryant                                           919-966-5496

Alicia Monroe                         

Nadia Mosquera Muriel     

Mohamed Mwamzandi      

David Pier                                                               919-537-3386

Robert Porter                          

Charlene Regester                                        919-537-3383

Eunice Sahle                           

Petal Samuel                                                        919-962-3944