Skip to main content

See below for contact information for our faculty and staff members.

Brief biographies and descriptions of each faculty member’s teaching and research interests can be found by selecting the faculty member’s name.

Department Chair

Claude Clegg


P: 919-966-5496

Director of Undergraduate Studies and Honors Coordinator

Kenneth Janken


P: 919-962-1519

Summer School Administrator

Charlene Regester


P: 919-537-3383

Administrative and Support Staff

Andrea Hargrow, Business Services Coordinator 919-966-1295
Ayana Brown, Admin Support Associate 919-966-5496


Maya J. Berry                                                        919-537-3382

Raphael Birya                           

Lydia Boyd                                                          919-537-3385

Brandi Brimmer                                                         919-537-3188

Samba Camara                       

Claude Clegg                                                       919-962-8225

Shakirah Hudani                                                       919-537-3188

Kenneth Janken                                           919-962-1519

Michael Lambert                                       919-962-2342

Alicia Monroe                         

Mohamed Mwamzandi      

Georges Nzongola-Ntalaja                     919-537-3210

David Pier                                                               919-537-3386

Robert Porter                          

Charlene Regester                                        919-537-3383

Eunice Sahle                                                       919-966-5496

Petal Samuel                                                        919-962-3944

Ronald Williams II                                                  919-843-6202

Adjunct Faculty


Sudhanshu Handa, Public Policy
Joseph Jordan, Director, Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History    
Priscilla Layne, Germanic & Slavic Languages
J. Michael Terry, Linguistics
Victoria Rovine, Art